The first public school building in Cedar was a one room structure built in 1881.This building was moved and replaced by a 6-room school building in 1887 at a cost of about $10,000.
The first public high school class graduated in 1890 with 3 students: Clara Brown, Mabel (Fenton) Burston, and Clarence ‘Bud’ Miller.
For a time, there were two high schools and two grade schools, public and Catholic. In 1927, a second public school building was constructed to house the high school, and the old school became the elementary school.
In 1927, a second public school building was constructed to house the high school, and the old school became the elementary school. For a time, there were two high schools and two grade schools, Catholic and public.
By 1938, the grade school building was 51 years old, and in September of that year, it was destroyed by fire. For two years after the fire, public school classes were held in unused rooms at St. Anthony’s School.
A new public grade school was erected in 1941 on the same site as the school that burned. St. Anthony’s Elementary School closed in 1970 and the students joined the public school.
The public school district purchased the parochial school building. For several years it was used for elementary and the school lunch program.
A new gymnasium was added to the north side of the high school in 1971.Then in 1973 the art class painted the first tiger mural, giving the gym its unique personality. The gym now boasts a variety of murals.
The changes continued in the 1990’s with an ambitious remodeling program that joined the school buildings into one structure.
The old gym may seem to have disappeared, but it’s still there if you know where to look – it’s a cavernous basement workshop/ storage area.
In 2014, another big change. Cedar Rapids Public School merged with the Spalding Public School and became Riverside School.
The first year of the new Riverside School has been an exciting success story. New opportunities for students, new friendships, and a long list of accomplishments provide positive proof of the value of the merger between Cedar Rapids and Spalding Public Schools.
Construction began last September on a new facility at the Spalding site which will house a multi-purpose gym, cafeteria & commons area, as well as three classrooms. The gym will seat approximately 400 spectators and will sport a regulation wood floor/court.
There will continue to be two alumni associations, two banquets, and two scholarship funds. We are changing our name to Cedar Rapids High School – Riverside Alumni. Riverside graduates from both towns will be considered members of our group, will be welcome at our banquets, and will be eligible for our scholarship awards. The Spalding Public School Alumni Association also plans to make students from both towns eligible for their scholarship program.
The Beginning – 2011:
Cedar Rapids Tigers
Cedar Valley Mavericks
2014 – Present: